Do you use Discord?

What games do you like to play? Looking for someone to play with you? Comments about a new game? Talk about all that here!

Do you use Discord?

Yes, I already use it with friends and/or other groups.
10
71%
Not yet, but I would sign up to join a Magic LAN community.
2
14%
No, I want nothing to do with that noise.
2
14%
 
Total votes : 14

Do you use Discord?

Postby MrJymm » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:53 pm

Several people have recommended creating a Discord server as one way for Magic LAN to improve our online community. So we are curious about the overall interest level. Take the poll!

EDIT - Here is a Discord link to our server:
https://discord.gg/KTJwE2z

Anyone can join and have access to the announcements channel and an open lobby. Anyone who attends an event will be given the Member role and have access to more channels between events. Each event will have it's own role assigned to attendees for accessing dedicated channels during the LAN.
User avatar
MrJymm
MAGIC Admin
MAGIC Admin
 
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Washington, IL
LANs Attended: 0

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby FroHawK » Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:15 am

I have enjoyed discord over any other VOIP/IRC. It is free and the people who run the company seem to be down to earth. It blends the two together very well. Depending on the need you can set permissions for people to see different chat channels or even to ping.
User avatar
FroHawK
MAGIC Core Member
MAGIC Core Member
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Monticello IL

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby tallpaul02 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:31 am

tallpaul02#3357 of anyone would like to add me on there. Apologies in advance if I don't recognize your screen name and DM you to ask who you are though.
AMD Ryzen7 1800X w/Silverstone NT06-Pro v2 || ASRock X370 Gaming-ITX/ac || 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4-3200 (16-18-18-36) || EVGA GTX 1080 SC || Corsair SF450 || Samsung 950 Pro 512GB || Ncase M1 v5 (no ODD)

The_Ghost wrote:hes over compensating that hes short, his names paul and he has 2 wifes.
User avatar
tallpaul02
MAGIC Core Member
MAGIC Core Member
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby Badinfluence » Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:24 pm

Should add an option that says, what the hell is discord? I only have these cords on my setup.
Image
User avatar
Badinfluence
MAGIC Member
MAGIC Member
 
Posts: 2208
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:37 am
Location: Pekin, IL (again)
LANs Attended: 8

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby computer_man20037 » Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:56 pm

computer_man20037#1656
PSU: Seasonic x850w PSU Modular
CPU: Phenom II 1100T BE
Memory: 32 GB G. Skills Ripjaw X
Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair IV Formula
GPU: Sapphire 7970 3GB CrossFire
Hard Drives: 512 GB SSD (OS Drive) + 4 TB (Steam Games, etc) + 2 TB (Backups, etc)
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DG
OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit

"Windows 8 is the new ME and Vista. Isn't that their M.O.? Decent OS, junk, decent OS, junk and so on."
User avatar
computer_man20037
MAGIC Core Member
MAGIC Core Member
 
Posts: 2089
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 6:03 pm
Location: Washington, IL

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby Hornswoggler » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:38 am

Discord would be GREAT for the party! Both for those at the LAN, and for anyone joining remotely.

Who knows how to setup a channel??
User avatar
Hornswoggler
MAGIC Member
MAGIC Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Peoria, IL

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby tallpaul02 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:21 pm

Channel is already up Horns. Let me see if I can find a link for you.
AMD Ryzen7 1800X w/Silverstone NT06-Pro v2 || ASRock X370 Gaming-ITX/ac || 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4-3200 (16-18-18-36) || EVGA GTX 1080 SC || Corsair SF450 || Samsung 950 Pro 512GB || Ncase M1 v5 (no ODD)

The_Ghost wrote:hes over compensating that hes short, his names paul and he has 2 wifes.
User avatar
tallpaul02
MAGIC Core Member
MAGIC Core Member
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby tallpaul02 » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:29 pm

And it looks like I can't directly invite you to the server, so I mentioned MrJymm and gave him your Discord handle
AMD Ryzen7 1800X w/Silverstone NT06-Pro v2 || ASRock X370 Gaming-ITX/ac || 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4-3200 (16-18-18-36) || EVGA GTX 1080 SC || Corsair SF450 || Samsung 950 Pro 512GB || Ncase M1 v5 (no ODD)

The_Ghost wrote:hes over compensating that hes short, his names paul and he has 2 wifes.
User avatar
tallpaul02
MAGIC Core Member
MAGIC Core Member
 
Posts: 3470
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 1:00 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby Hornswoggler » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:38 pm

Can you generate a url for joining?
User avatar
Hornswoggler
MAGIC Member
MAGIC Member
 
Posts: 1146
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Peoria, IL

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby MrJymm » Thu Jun 08, 2017 12:47 pm

Yes, this is on my to-do list. I need to spend more time with Discord to figure out how we want to use it during and between events. We had a dedicated event channel last time, and a tournament channel, but I haven't set up anything for this one yet. I will hopefully get some info about that sent out tonight or tomorrow.
User avatar
MrJymm
MAGIC Admin
MAGIC Admin
 
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Washington, IL
LANs Attended: 0

Re: Do you use Discord?

Postby MrJymm » Sat Jun 10, 2017 1:03 pm

I updated the top post with a link and some more information.
User avatar
MrJymm
MAGIC Admin
MAGIC Admin
 
Posts: 5048
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:00 am
Location: Washington, IL
LANs Attended: 0


Return to Gaming

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron

Never Miss A LAN!

Your LAN Status

Invalid Event ID: 0!